Viviane Arnoux and François Michaud have been playing happily together since 1992. The two of them worked out an original musical project for accordion, violin, viola and vocals by altering the usual role of each musical instrument.

A new jazz form was born that transmuted folklore and ethnic world music into original compositions, arrangements and improvisations. Stimulating and natural, this provocative fiesta of rhythms and melodies feeds on acoustic explorations and the urge to sing and bring together new sounds. Musicians are welcome to join as guests while listeners are invited to the feast.

These two restless musicians, the founders of MAM, often play in duos; yet, always anxious to make novel musical encounters they delight in performing with fellow musicians of different backgrounds. They recorded 9 albums with Buda Musique (their 7th, "Paris Village", was an order from the publisher Kosinus) in various formations from duet to quintet (guest cello, percussion and drums). They also recorded a DVD with La Seine TV. Their version of “Mission Impossible” (Lalo Schiffrin) was twice compiled and played on tv (France 2). They recorded 3 CD’s with Japanese singers, participated in those by Mama Kaya (2), Thomas Pitiot (2), Gérard Pitiot (3), Jean Piero, Alifair, Gilliane Kim, Thomasi (2). They “made a pass” at the racy swing musette of accordionist virtuoso François Parisi ("Jazz in my Musette"). They put on a Brassens performance minus guitar and moustache but with the female singer Guénaëlle and are currently working on 4 ambitious multifaced projects: "Meddled Times" with Fab, a famous French-Newyorker musician and sound engineer, "New Time" with the fantastic showman Norbert "Touski" Lucarain, playing human beatbox and keyboards together! (these 2 shows featuring VJing and machines) then, "Mélodies Extras Ordinaires" (featuring the actress Céline Caussimon), and "La Mélodie des Choses" (featuring Pauline Borras, from La Compagnie Préfabriquée), two musical tales with theater, dance, video and chineese shadows. In 2015, they created "Human Swing Box" and recorded the album, still playing with Touski. Now, for that show, they are on stage with the talented Paul Vignes (human beatbox and keyboard). Last publications at autumn 2017: double-album "25 Ans" (Buda Musique/Socadisc) et DVD "Jazz in my Musette" (La Seine TV/Musea).

Travelling is for them an “art de vivre”, no wonder they have often performed abroad: Montreal, Vancouver, Halifax, Ouagadougou, Tripoli, St Louis in Senegal, Tlemcen, Skopje, Ljubjana, Innsbruck, Dresden, Bruges, Freiburg (CH), Halmstad, Santo-Domingo, Cap-Haitien, Caracas, Iquitos, Dubai… in addition to crisscrossing hexagonal France. Next menu : concerts and pedagogical actions.

Viviane Arnoux et François Michaud collaborent avec bonheur depuis 1992. De leur rencontre est née la nécessité d’élaborer un projet musical original pour accordéon, violon, alto et voix, en transgressant les habitudes et les rôles instrumentaux.

Un jazz se dessine alors, qui transfigure folklores et musiques du monde à travers des compositions, des arrangements et des improvisations qui les racontent. Vivifiante et nature, cette fiesta mélodico-rythmique culottée, nourrie d’explorations acoustiques, d’envies de chanter et d’intégrer des sonorités nouvelles, convie au partage artistes complices et auditeurs gourmands.

Fondateurs de MAM, ces 2 musiciens à l’art vagabond se produisent souvent en duo, mais, friands de rencontres esthétiques, ils multiplient les aventures avec des compères d’horizons éclectiques, enregistrent 9 albums chez Buda Musique (le 7ème, "Paris Village", est une commande de l'éditeur Kosinus), usant du duo jusqu’au quintet (avec violoncelle, percussions, batterie, invités…). Ils ont également sorti un DVD chez La Seine TV. Leur version de Mission Impossible (Lalo Schiffrin) a été reprise dans 2 compilations et diffusée sur France 2. Ils enregistrent 3 cds avec des chanteurs japonais, participent à ceux de Mama Kaya (2), Thomas Pitiot (2), Gérard Pitiot (3), Jean Piero, Alifair, Gilliane Kim, Thomasi (2), fricotent avec le swing-musette racé du virtuose accordéoniste François Parisi ("Jazz in my Musette"), recréent Brassens sans guitare ni moustache avec la chanteuse Guénaëlle, montent quatre ambitieux projets pluridisciplinaires: "Meddled Times" (avec Fab, remarquable musicien et ingénieur du son franco-new-yorkais), "New Time" (avec le spectaculaire Norbert "Touski" Lucarain, à la human beat-box et aux claviers!) tous deux avec machines et VJing, puis "Mélodies Extras Ordinaires" (avec la comédienne Céline Caussimon) et "La Mélodie des Choses" (avec Pauline Borras, de La Compagnie Préfabriquée), contes musicaux pour grands et petits, avec théâtre, danse, vidéo et ombres chinoises. En 2015, ils créent avec Touski le spectacle et l'album "Human Swing Box", qu'ils tournent désormais avec le talentueux Paul Vignes (human beat-box et clavier). Dernières parutions discographiques à l'automne 2017: double-album "25 Ans" (Buda Musique/Socadisc) et DVD "Jazz in my Musette" (La Seine TV/Musea).

Comme voyager se veut, pour eux, un art de vivre, ils n’ont pas hésité à se produire à l’étranger : Montréal, Vancouver, Halifax, Ouagadougou, Tripoli, St-Louis du Sénégal, Tlemcen, Skopje, Ljubljana, Innsbruck, Dresde, Bruges, Fribourg, Halmstad, Saint-Domingue, Cap-Haïtien, Caracas, Iquitos, Dubaï… en plus de redécouvrir inlassablement les 6 coins de France, grâce notamment à 2 années de tournées J.M.F. et 3 tournées CCAS. Au menu prochainement: concerts et actions pédagogiques.